Professional Licensing

Social Workers


The Social Work Profession Act came into force as of January 1, 2012 which provides for the licensing of social workers in the NWT to ensure that only qualified individuals be able to call themselves social workers. Pursuant to this legislation, all individuals using the title or holding themselves out to be Social Workers are required to be licensed.

The Act provides for two categories in the social work profession:

  • Registered Social Worker (R.S.W.) which will require a Bachelor of Social Work
  •  Licensed Social Worker (L.S.W.) which will require a Diploma of Social Work



Continuing Competency Requirements

Registrants are required to meet continuing competency requirements each year in order to maintain licensure. Please see the link below to provide you with a log sheet to assist you in this process of tracking your continuing competency initiatives. You must retain this log sheet for a period of 5 years as the Registrar may conduct an audit where this will help substantiate proof or your meeting requirements.

Employment Opportunities

Scope of Practice


Membership is voluntary.

For more information, contact:

Association of Social Workers in Northern Canada

Box 31006

Whitehorse, Yukon  Y1A 5P7

Website: Association of Social Workers in Northern Canada